Carpe Diem…what does it really mean?

My first post is pertaining to my favorite Latin phrase “Carpe Diem” which means seize the day. Funny enough Carpe literally translates into “to pick, pluck, pluck off, cull, crop, gather, to eat food, to serve, to want”, however, Ovid who was a famous Roman poet used the word in the sense of “to enjoy, seize, use, make use of” thus providing the world with a timeless cliché.

Another interesting fact about Carpe Diem is that it stems from a longer quote… Carpe diem quam minimum credula postero which translates into “Seize the Day, putting as little trust as possible in the future”

For years, I’ve loved this quote. As a kid, I would use it to convince my parents to let me stay in the playground a little longer, have sleepovers with my friends on the weekends, take me to Disneyland…twice! As a teenager, it developed into a motto of sorts, that each day should be lived as though it was your last day on earth. Nowadays we refer to it as YOLO (You Only Live Once). So I used to do just that. I would get dropped to school in the morning, pretend to be walking in the doors and as soon as I saw my mom’s Mazda out of sight I would run for the hills where my equally awesome delinquent set of friends would be waiting for me. We would roam the streets of the city like it was no one’s business. Then, when the sun went down and the city came alive we would find a way to sneak into to all the cool clubs and be at all the cool gigs going on. I honestly don’t remember sleeping for 2 years. It was awesome. Then I moved away from the city to a beautiful island in the Caribbean, I settled in and got a job. In other words, I got older. And with age comes something that we seem to take for granted unless someone points it out to us…Wisdom. I can finally say I’ve only recently truly discovered what my favorite phrase that I would like to get tattooed on my arm actually means. I used to think it meant to live as if there was no tomorrow. I used to think that it meant freedom. To free oneself from the expectations of others, the responsibilities of your life. To live for yourself. And to live it now. But i was wrong. We live in a world where we have rules and systems put in place. Morning traffic, taxes, full-time jobs to pay for our loans, mortgages, insurance, expenses, etc etc etc. Carpe Diem doesn’t mean to abandon all that, it doesn’t mean to belittle all of that. It’s not just some bohemian concept for actors and artists or some catch phrase for blockbuster movies. It means that no matter who you are or what you do, that you matter. In the grand scheme of things, YOU are Important! YOU make a difference! So whatever you’re doing with your time, make sure you value it! Whether it’s sitting at your desk, or picking  your kids up from school or just trying to figure out how to pay rent this month, your life is unique. And today is all yours to do whatever you want to do with it. Kinda empowering once you realize how significant you are isn’t it?

Here’s an awesome song by Kris Allen titled “Live Like We’re Dying” just in case you haven’t caught on with the theme yet =P

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h6jnynVLfLA

So I hope I have you basking in your new-found power when it comes to taking control of your life.

“Life is like a TV, and you’re the remote control” I just came up with that, but it sounds like something someone’s already said. lol

Have a LOVEly day!!!

-ME

Leave a Reply

