Video

Strength in Vulnerability… And Love!

Just thought I’d share this with you.
What Portia says is something so profound. Take a minute for this quote to resonate with you:

“I used to think that the way to be strong was to be tough. I used to think that to be independent was to not need anyone. But she’s taught me that the more vulnerable you are and the softer you are and the more you allow people into your life and into your heart, the happier you are and the more valuable you are to other people.”

 

I couldn’t have put it better myself. We spend so much time putting up walls and keeping our distance from people so we don’t get hurt, but by doing that we deny ourselves the ability to achieve true strength and happiness. And I know it’s not easy, believe me I know. But it’s worth it =)

I also have a confession to make.. I’m a BIG fan of Ellen & Portia. They’re both just amazing, beautiful people. I was maybe like 8 or 9 years old when Ellen was doing stand-up but when I got older I used to watch her comedy show, I found her ridiculously hilarious, I remember her on Oprah when she publicly came out, starting her own show, meeting Portia and everything since. I think she’s an amazing woman…truly. And Portia as well. I just became aware of her book Unbearable Lightness & I will definitely be reading it soon! I admire their courage and beliefs. Ellen helps people everyday to achieve their dreams and spreads laughter. And isn’t that what life is all about?

One thought on “Strength in Vulnerability… And Love!

Leave a Reply

