Video

I am this person…

I just came across this brilliant movie. If you get the chance I recommend you watch it. It will make you laugh, cry, dream and…feel.

Here is the quote I loved the most of the movie.

“At a certain part in your life. Probably when too much of it has gone by. You will open your eyes and see yourself for who you are. Especially for everything that made you so different from all the awful normals.
And you will say to yourself, “But I am this person.”
And in that statement, that correction, there will be a kind of love.”

I find it so brilliant because it teaches you to love all those little bits and pieces of yourself that maybe don’t look so good in the mirror or that makes others around you uncomfortable. It teaches you that being different is okay. Hell, it’s more than okay. It’s a gift.

I’ve never really belonged anywhere and for a long time I’ve tried to fit in. Because let’s face it, being alone is painful. I even reached a place where I would bend my principles and numb myself just to feel surrounded. I was around sixteen. When I grew up, I realized that the only thing that hurt more than being alone was feeling alone when you’re surrounded by people. You feel like you’re invisible, like you’re never going to make a human connection that will make you feel alive. Of course not. How could I when I wasn’t being true to myself? It’s only when I went down that road of self-love did I find that everything I was taught to hate about myself and others… was what I loved. I love being different. I love not fitting in. It makes me shine. It makes me AWESOME. I can reach people this way. I can really “connect” and I’ve never felt more alive.
So, my friends… this is the true key to happiness: Be yourself and LOVE yourself.

Here’s you affirmation for today. Look at yourself in the mirror and say:

“I am this person. I am you and I love you.”

Really look at yourself. Look at your smile, your eyes. See your light. Trust me, you’ll want to kiss yourself after this. Guaranteed!

Leave a Reply

