Higher Love…

Think about it, there must be higher love
Down in the heart or hidden in the stars above
Without it, life is wasted time
Look inside your heart, I’ll look inside mine
Things look so bad everywhere
In this whole world, what is fair?
We walk blind, we try to see
Falling behind in what could be

Bring me a higher love
Bring me a higher love
Bring me a higher love
Where’s that higher love I keep thinking of?

Worlds are turning and we’re just hanging on
Facing our fear and standing out there alone
A yearning, and it’s real to me
There must be someone who’s feeling for me

Things look so bad everywhere
In this whole world, what is fair?
We walk blind, we try to see
Falling behind in what could be

Bring me a higher love
Bring me a higher love
Bring me a higher love
Where’s that higher love I keep thinking of?

What is HIgher Love to you? I interpret this in many ways but the most important ones to me is:

1. Your relationship with the Universe.

Understanding and recognizing your divine purpose, your role in this vast pool of existence. You are a big part of all of it and it is a big part of you.

2. Your relationship with yourself.

I lived in Buenos Aires, Argentina for a year last year and a man on the street walked up to me and told me something I’ll never forget.

He said: “You want to know a secret? Do you want to know who is your one and only true love?”

My eyes shot open. Who doesn’t want to know that? I thought.

Then with his right index finger he pointed at my heart. “You” he said.

“You are the most beautiful person you can ever fall in love with. You’re the one who is worth loving forever.”

That moment was such a revelation. It wasn’t something I hadn’t heard before. Self-Love was what got me out of my house and got me to travel across the world to live a life of Independence. I knew all about self-love. But at that moment, I was in a relationship where I wasn’t being treated too kindly and I kept telling myself “This is love. When you love you endure…you forgive…you stay and work it out.” So I was staying in it and enduring whatever happened because of…Love. But when he told me that I asked myself? Would I endure and forgive it if I was the culprit? If I was hurting myself… what would I do? And in the past, I had hurt myself a lot. But I hated myself for it. You can’t break up with yourself you know? So you’re forced to accept things and move on. But I loved myself enough to change my ways. To help myself become the person I always wanted to be. There’s much less to endure, forgive and compromise with now. If I could do that with myself… The one true love of my life then I sure as hell could do it with my partner. If the person I’m with doesn’t love themselves enough to “live up” to their own expectations, then… what’s the point? Sometimes you just know what you have to do. It’s hard….but it’s right for you.

2 thoughts on “Higher Love…

Leave a Reply

