Video

The POWER of Words!

To be honest, when I first saw this video I thought “how sad”. How sad it was that a blind man’s message had to be “marketed correctly”, that it had to evoke a sentiment in a person, that we needed to feel “connected” to him somehow, that it had to be creative for charity to happen. Otherwise, he was just another blind man begging on the street. It took me back to another classic example. “If you want to succeed in the business world, you have to dress the part.” I hated when people would tell me that. I hated it because at the time I felt that they were right. It was something I was taught. If you want to succeed under society’s standards, then yes, you have to play the part. You have to put on the nice suit, drive the nice car, have the nice house even if only for appearances in the beginning. But thanks to something called modernization, that idea is now bullshit.

Mark Zuckerberg probably created Facebook in his boxers and he runs his company wearing jeans. We focus more on the content of things, but it doesn’t mean that image is any bit less.

But what I didn’t realize at the time is that these are two separate topics. Appearances is one thing and how we speak, the words we choose to share is another. I never realized it because as long as I can remember I have always spoken with caution. I have chosen my words skillfully. I have always been aware of the power of words. I learned from a young age that I could make someone laugh or cry depending on what I said and I would always choose my words consciously. Except when I got upset of course, or when I was hurt. Sadness and anger have a huge alteration on how you communicate. (I’m working on that). So, since saying the right words was second nature to me I didn’t fully understand that for others this could be difficult.

Not too long ago I met someone that has a true gift for saying the wrong things at the wrong time without fail. Each time she made a comment I would cringe because it was just… either wrong, out of place, inappropriate or mean. However, it was never her intention. This girl has a beautiful heart. She is made up entirely of flaws, stitched together with good intentions. When I spoke to her, she had no idea that her words were out of place. With a little focus and some self-realization she’s managed not only to change how she talks to others, but she’s also made a positive impact on them!

So that was my personal experience with words. To change our words, first we have to change our message, our thoughts.

We are what our thoughts have made us; so take care about what you think. Words are secondary. Thoughts live; they travel far.
Swami Vivekananda

My invitation to you is this:

Let us all be kind with our words.

Let us all speak peace into existence.

Let us all spread joy through our mouths and let only love leave our tongue. 

Thoughtless words cut like a sword.

But the tongue of wise people brings healing.

Proverbs 12:18-20

Discover the power of transforming your own words in Andrea Gardner’s book Change Your Words, Change Your World

Watch The Power of Words 2 – Change Your Words, Change Your World

Watch The Power of Words – The Red Balloon

Read more about the Book by Andrea Gardner

2 thoughts on “The POWER of Words!

Leave a Reply

