Come On…

You’ve got the words to change a nation
but you’re biting your tongue,
You’ve spent a life time stuck in silence
afraid you’ll say something wrong,
If no one ever hears it how we gonna learn your song.
So come on, come on…

To be honest, I’m tired… I’m tired of the silence. Each one of us is unique. We have a voice, a story, a message that whether we want to admit it or not, it wants to be heard. Your story, believe it or not, is worth more than gold. Your story could save a life. Put yourself out there, give of yourself to this world. If there’s someone you love… tell them! If there’s something you want… ask for it! Whatever it is, speak it out loud. Silence is a darkness that festers inside you. The more you wait to find the courage, the more you’ll never have it… 

Today I ran into a very important person from my past whom I still love very much. Has anyone you know ever pretended like they didn’t know you? Well that’s what happened. That’s what she did. She passed by me as if I didn’t exist, as if I was invisible… and it hurt. Because I let it hurt. Because the last time we saw each other it wasn’t on good terms and because I wasn’t expecting to see her again for a long time and I had made peace with that. Because they were so many words left unsaid… I wanted to open my mouth and say something but I thought better of it, because it felt like it was the “right thing to do” at the time. How many of you have felt the same?

I’m tired of the silence.

We’re all wonderful, wonderful people
So when did we all get so fearful?
Now we’re finally finding our voices
So take a chance, come help me sing this…

Leave a Reply

