Video

Survival Kit 101

Please watch this video. It will change your life forever. I promise you. You will never look at a bad day the same ever again.

Realize every dark cloud is a smoke screen
meant to blind us from the truth
and the truth is whether we seem them or not
the sun and the moon are still there
and always there is always light.

I can never listen to a Shane Koyczan poem without crying. He extends his arm of words and touches my soul, he stirs me up, he makes me whole. I don’t have much more to add to this. Life is not perfect. We have bad days, we fall down, we fall short, we mess up. We get scared, we feel weak, we disappoint someone, we don’t make it and we hurt. 

I have bad days. Emphasis on the plural. I don’t always wake up feeling awesome. I don’t feel like I give enough, like I live enough. I hurt… and I bleed. And you and me, we bleed the same. I’ve also learned to transform my pain, to grow from it, to create from it. So I try. I try everyday to be better. To give the best of myself. Because that’s what makes me truly happy. 

If you are having a good day, be considerate.
A simple smile could be the first-aid kit
that someone has been looking for.
If you believe with absolute honesty that
you are doing everything you can – do more

I’m a true believer of the power of a simple smile. Someone once changed my life just by smiling at me. I have helped many of my friends just by being there for them, looking them in the eye with a smile and reminding them that everything happens for a reason – that it WILL be okay.

Love and hate are beasts

and the one that grows

is the one you feed.

Every day we wake up with a choice. We set ourselves up within the first few minutes of waking up. Do I want to feel grateful today? Do I want to be cranky? Close, reserved? Open, giving? A Yes Man or a I Don’t Know Guy. Every single day of our lives we wake up…and we make that choice of who we want to be.

Everyone knows pain.

We are not meant to carry it forever

If you decided one day to wake up and feel sad, burdened, small, frightened, fragile, hopeless, poor or defeated. It’s just today. It’s okay. None of that is really true. None of that is really you.

PS – If you’d like to hear more poems like this from Spoken Word poets, please check my Awesome Poetry page.

2 thoughts on “Survival Kit 101

Leave a Reply

