Wholehearted Living.

What is wholehearted living all about? It’s a lifestyle in which you decide to give the best of yourself on a daily basis. To let go of anger, resentment and defeat. It is a stance of empowerment. Of joy. Of peace. Of love. In my previous post on Brené Brown we discussed Vulnerability and Empathy in detail. Now I am presenting her concise list of ten steps you can take to practice wholehearted living. Notice that each steps starts with the word ‘cultivating’, that’s because it’s something we must prepare, something that we must plant like a seed and watch it grow each day as we take care of it. Our minds, our hearts and our souls must be cultivated, our inner light will always shine but the intensity ultimately depends on us. This is a process, there is no right or wrong, no judgment, no contest, no tournament to decide who is more ‘wholehearted’. No. This is something we can all strive to do, no matter who we are, where we’re from and/or what we believe in. Each one of us can make a difference, we can make a huge impact on a global level and it doesn’t take big leaps to do so. It starts with small steps. Small daily decisions that shape us into who we are. Our perceptions, our reactions, our interactions with others are what ultimately speak about us as a person. I’m still working on these steps, to be living a lifestyle in which they’re fully implemented. My mind still wanders, it  gets anxious, I still haven’t fully let go of what people think or being in control, but alas, like I said, it is a daily commitment to give the best of yourself.

6 thoughts on “Wholehearted Living.

  1. I think time also helps with wisdom; except as you said in your previous post that you can be prone to losing time if you “ruminate”. I think this “letting go” requires a lot of self-discipline. I hope you listen to Audio Dharma because even though I’m not a practicing Buddhist; I listen to it often and there are great tips there concerning the “letting go”. Also, when I say discipline, I mean being able to really practice self-awareness in spite of all that’s happening around you and people who may not understand it. But as I said, time is the greatest teacher for this endeavor.

    1. I fully agree. I once wrote in a poem “Time is a God that heals” because with time comes growth, knowledge and acceptance. Everything unfolds as it is meant to be. A discipline is something we develop with time as well. Consistent thought and action can eventually lead a practicing discipline. I do listen to Dharma Talks, I am also not a Buddhist but you don’t need to be one to put their teachings into practice.

      1. I suppose it has to do with time giving us some type of ‘perspective’ that the present or the “moment” is not able to give us. Why is it that we need this “time” to gain perspective is a mystery. We sometimes feel we do have the wisdom and perspective at the “moment”. But most of the time, it’s just not the way it happens in life.

Leave a Reply

