Video

Caged Bird, Take Flight.

Caged bird, take flight. Never lose your will to fight.

I am elated.
I am proud.
I am grateful.

Today, on Music Monday (yes, I just made that up) I’d like to share with you a local band from my beautiful island of Barbados. A treasure find is more like it.

Hungry Soul is a new band but lead singer Dennica Pearl has been creating music for some time now. The 22 year old, singer-soul writer, born in St. Michael, Barbados and raised in Florida. Acoustic, soul, jazz artist influenced mainly by Billie Holiday, Tracy Chapman, and Erykah Badu. Her belief that musicians are agents of change with the responsibility to lift the social level of consciousness are reflected in her lyrics.”

I am proud to call the members of this band my friends & beautiful souls. The Universe brought them to me and now I am sharing their gift with you. I hope this song brings you love, joy and peace today 🙂

I love this song, maybe because I feel like the bird in it. Living in a prison that I created for myself. I remember reading Maya Angelou‘s poem for the first time and thinking since when was freedom something we had to fight for? Nevertheless, it is. Until this day, there are people fighting to keep us ‘free’.

There’s liberation in these lights.

Music frees the masses,

come unwind your mind.

We live in a world

full of mass confusion;

unmask your psyche,

control is an illusion.

We all have a version of a ‘cage’ in our life. Whether it’s regret, fear, or sorrow holding us back. Whether it’s your job, bank account or city. I’ve never met anyone that hasn’t felt trapped. But we are not. There are no chains tying us to the ground. We were born to fly. If you believe this, you will be able to soar across the highest of peaks. Believe. Believe in yourself, your strengths, your capabilities.

Believe that you deserve to live your dreams. And live them.    

It’s not as complicated as you make it out to be 🙂

I’d also like to remind you: There is inspiration everywhere.

Take a walk around your neighborhood, explore your hometown, find a local group or band or class or person that is attuned to your frequency. Really notice your surroundings. You might be amazed and what you find. A mutual friend introduced me to this amazing band and when I met the lead singer, she can attest that I told her I loved her on the first day of meeting her. She had such a pure, generous and radiant energy. In her, I found another soul sister. Thank you, Universe. So get out there, put your best foot forward and allow what’s meant for you to come your way.

 

2 thoughts on “Caged Bird, Take Flight.

Leave a Reply

