Quote

Yo Viajo.

“Our deepest calling is to grow into our own authentic self-hood, whether or not it conforms to some image of who we ought to be. As we do so, we will not only find the joy that every human being seeks–we will also find our path of authentic service in the world.”
― Parker J. Palmer

This quote comes at a timely moment in my life. A beautiful and dear friend of mine has recently exposed me to Parker Palmer. I am now submerging myself into some of his writings. The discussion we had was about truth and authenticity. She told me Parker talks about our experiments with truth, as Gandhi put it. We are constantly searching, trying, listening and searching for a path, a way of life that works with who we are. We are who we are and anything we can do for ourselves along the lines of self-acceptance or any other form of interior growth toward wholeness and well/being is ultimately being done on behalf of other people. It’s not a selfish act as it’s being treated. It’s work being done on behalf of the common good.

I am in a personal fight on this one. My calling, my desires, my purpose, what I want to do with my life goes against the wishes of the ones closest to me, the ones who raised me, who want what’s best for me. This has been my eternal struggle. Do I still continue on my path even though I am confronted with opposition? I have given up in the past but as I get older I realize that the most important thing in life is to stay true to yourself. To do what YOU think is best.

“And you are far from a monster or a failure or dishonorable. You’re brave and kind and willing to be true to your heart and open with those you care about. And I’m sorry that it’s bringing pain/turmoil now.” are the words of solace my friend provided to me.

I have made a decision to embark on a new journey and I am battling with my adversaries. How do I look at the people who raised me in the face, who brought me to life, thanks to whom I have become everything that I am, how do I tell them to let me go? To let me walk my path. Whatever that is. Whatever that may be. Life is pulling in one direction, I sense a whisper from the Universe encouraging me to follow it.. how can I say no to that?

I am person that is in a constant and everlasting search on this Earth to achieve my higher self and purpose. I’m also human, I might make wrong turns, I might slip up, I too have regrets. But each experience was a learning lesson and I’m grateful for all my lessons.

Travelling is a passion of mine, it’s something I’m sure I share in common with a lot of other folks. It’s something that bring me joy, that terrifies me, that challenges me and makes me feel alive. Every time I have embarked on a new journey, I have always gotten more than I bargained for. Meeting new friends, stumbling upon treasure spots, I’ve had my breathe taken from me, turned my life upside down and I’ve always come out so humbled and grateful from the experience. Every travel is an adventure that will change your life forever. There’s always something that travels with you even long after you’ve left your destination. I call it “Wisdom Acquisition”; something I now know or understand that I didn’t before.  I will never stop being a traveler and I certainly won’t apologize for it.

Summer is almost among us, if you get the opportunity, I encourage you take a trip. It doesn’t have to be extravagant, just something to dip your toes outside of your comfort zone.

With the internet, travelling can be easy and even inexpensive. There are sites where you can volunteer or work at a country in exchange for accommodation and meals. There are even a community of people who have opened their home to strangers just to enjoy a little cultural exchange. There are even apps that allow you to track everything.

I’ve said it before, travelling is not difficult. It’s our perception of it that makes it seem harder than it looks. Money or commitments are usually the issue but once you set your mind to it, just pack a bag and go! No regrets. That’s what I do 🙂

One thought on “Yo Viajo.

Leave a Reply

