A small gesture can go a long way…

Hey guys, I know it’s been a while but something amazing has happened and I want to share the story with you.

This is a true story that happened to me on Saturday.

It started out like any other day. I was just about finished with my cereal when I got the call. My cousin needed me to do a favor for her friend Mark. I was supposed to pick up a parcel and ship it to him for his birthday. I’m big on details so I offered to get a birthday card too. That’s when she told me. “The thing is… he’s really depressed. He’s seeing a shrink and everything. He might even harm himself.” She just wanted to send him something to cheer him up. “He’s had all this bad stuff happen to him but he’s such a good person. He’s just very sensitive.” She said. I knew that feeling all too well. My heart swelled. I didn’t know Mark but I wanted him to know that I know the dark place that he’s in and how as comfortable as it feels it’s not called Home. I know that place all too well. That bottomless pit. That embracing darkness. That void. Mark was dealt a rough hand but he didn’t have to stay there. I wanted him to know he wasn’t alone. 

“Forget the lamp you were going to send him,” I told my cousin. “Why don’t I make him a care package instead.” Ideas came rushing, flooding in. “Are you sure? But how, with what? We need to send it today so it arrives in time.” she worried. I told her not to fret. That I was going to make a magical birthday box for Mark. I was going to let him know one way or another that he was special, unique, important, seen and loved. 

I went into my vault of quotes and picked out my favorite 100. I printed them and cut them up one by one. I filled the box with tiny gifts. Scented candles, an inspirational mug, a stress ball and I drizzled the quotes along with confetti on top of it all. I covered everything with red tissue paper and right above the tissue paper was a letter. A letter I wrote for Mark.

“Hey Mark, you don’t know me. I’m your friends cousin, Dolly. 
I know you’re going through a rough time, so I just wanted you know that there’s someone out here who loves you, who gets it, who understands what you’re going through and I promise you Mark. I promise you that things will get better. What sucks the most is that none of what happened is your fault and yet you’re the one that’s suffering. I know you’re sad and mad right now. I know things feel pretty bleak and you probably don’t see the point in anything. And that’s okay. Cause you don’t have to right now. Our hearts are these beautiful, strong and fragile things all at the same time always. So it’s okay to not be okay right now. But Mark, I want you to do me a favor, okay? I want you to give yourself the chance to feel better someday. Because even though you think you’ll feel this way forever, the truth is you won’t. And I think deep down you know this. Deep down, you know you’ll smile and laugh and dream and love again. Hey, you might even cry again. But that is the beauty of being alive my friend. So if you can just stay here with me I’ll promise that we’ll get through this together. Okay? Happy birthday bro. Here’s wishing you a new year full of experiences and adventures and laughter and friendship and heart-swelling beauty always. I love you, Dolly”

I knew this wouldn’t solve Mark’s problems, but it would definitely make him smile and feel loved on his special day even from a distance.

This got me thinking. It is really not hard to make someone feel appreciated, loved, seen or even heard. 


Isn’t it funny? What we give the least is what we crave the most.

So, I don’t just want to stop with Mark. I want to make as many people as possible smile.

Therefore, I have come up with a new idea:

I AM GOING TO WRITE LOVE LETTERS

It doesn’t matter where you live, f you send me your address, I promise to send you a heartfelt love letter.

I truly believe words have the power to heal and transform hearts. I want to offer mine as a gift.

So if you would like some love sent your way or you can think of one person that could use some encouragement, let me know. Click on this link to fill out the entry form so each letter can find a home.

Also, let’s spread the love. Will you help me share this message so I can make countless souls smile? 
Thank you.

Mark inspired me to start writing love letters to strangers. 
He was my first. But he won’t be my last.

I want to write 1,000 Love Letters

Let’s start a reLOVEution!

5 thoughts on “A small gesture can go a long way…

  1. What a lovely thing to do Dolly! I adore how thoughtful, sensitive and compassionate you are and how you demonstrate that always and in ALL WAYS!

    I will share your post!

Leave a comment